Russian English
search main page map webmaster e-mail

Chronicle of events

The resolution of Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union (CPSU) and Council of Ministers of the USSR ¹561 dated July 8, 1974 "About construction of Baikal-Amur railway" is considered to be the starting point in the history of Baikal-Amur railway. The 17th congress of All-Union Leninist Young Communist League (AULYCL) announces the construction of Baikal-Amur railway to be All-Union crash young communist construction.

April 1974. The 1st all-union crash division named after the 17th congress of AULYCL goes to the construction of Baikal-Amur railway. There are people from Moscow, St-Petersburg and all Soviet republics in the division. Viktor Lakomov, the delegate of the 17th congress of AULYCL, Hero of Socialist Labour, becomes the head of the division. In May 21, 1974, the first military train with BAM constructors arrives.

January 1975. The Ministry of Transport Construction makes the decision to organize the Chief Administration in charge of Baikal-Amur railway construction. K. Mokhortov, the deputy of the Minister of Transport construction, becomes the chief of Administration.

December 1975. The first train makes its way from Ust-Kut to Zvezdny town.

October 1976. The award "For Baikal-Amur railway construction" is established; this award becomes one of the most honourable and prestigious.

November 1976. The section BAM-Tynda is placed into temporary commission.

1977. Construction of the longest tunnel in Russia, Severomuisk tunnel, is started.

October 1977. The first train goes from Tynda to Berkakit. The permanent railway traffic on the section BAM-Tynda (180 km) is started.

1979. The section Tynda-Berkakit (22 km) is placed into commission.

October 1979. The first work train arrives in Severobaikalsk along the line, constructed round about Baikal tunnel.

1980 The traffic along the section Komsomolsk-on-Amur - Berezovka (199 km) starts.

July 1980. Baikal-Amur railway with Traffic Administration in Tynda is organized. Baikal-Amur railway consists of: Bamovskaya - Tynda - Berkakit line, Izvestkovaya - Urgal - Chegdomyn section and Berezovka - Komsomolsk-on-Amur section (in temporary operation) of the Far-East railway; the sections in temporary operation of the Ministry of Transport Construction Ust-Kut - Severobaikalsk, Urgal - Berezovka. There are 3 departments on the Baikal-Amur railway - Urgalsk, Tynda and Severobaikalsk.

1981 556 km of railway between Lena and Nizhneangarsk are placed into commission.

1982 The section Urgal - Berezovka (303 km) is opened.

1984 Traffic along the section Tynda - Dipkun (136 km) is started.

September 29, 1984. The "golden" linkage on the crossing loop Balbukhta (Kalarsky district, Chita region). East and west lines of BAM constructors, heading towards each other for 10 years, meet. On the 1st of October "golden" BAM track skeletonizing is performed on the station Kuanda (Kalar district, Chita region). The monument of glory for BAM constructors is opened on this station.

October 27, 1984. The formal opening of running through of trains along Baikal-Amur railway.

1989 The document of state committee is signed; the last station-to-station blocks along BAM are put into permanent operation. All the line is given to railway workers (Ministry of Railways of USSR).

July 1996. The board of the Ministry of Railways makes the decision to divide Baikal-Amur railway into two parts: Dalnevostochnaya railway is in charge of eastern part, West-Siberian railway is in charge of western part.

The last point in the Baikal-Amur railway construction is put only when Severomuisk tunnel is placed into commission. Tunnel length is more than 15 km, taking into account underground working - 45 km. The tunnel crosses Severomuisk ridge at a depth of 1000 m and connects Angarakansk and Muyakanskoe ravines.

Baikal-Amur railway (4300km) crosses 11 deep rivers, 7 mountain ridges. More than 1000 km of track are made in the districts of frozen ground and high earthquake activity. There are 8 tunnels, 142 bridges (over 100m each), more than 200 railway stations and crossing loops, over 60 towns along the railway. Some sections are seismically dangerous; the impact of earthquakes approaches 9 points; temperature variations are from 55 below zero in winter to 30 above zero in summer.

In 1976 it becomes clear that placing 4000-kilometre railway into commission depends on tunnels situated in its beginning. So the motto "tunnels are the keys to Baikal-Amur railway" arrears.

With the 1st descent of volunteers Moscow subway constructors arrive to Baikal-Amur railway: Valery Kogan, becoming at first the chief mechanic of tunnel division ¹11 and then the chief mechanic of Bamtonnelstroy, Vladimir Usenko - the section manager, Vladimir Bessonov - chief engineer, Semen Millerman - the head of technical branch of Bamtonnelstroy, Rudolf Kasapov - production manager. There are St-Petersburg and Kharkov dwellers in tunnel division ¹11 and recently organized Construction Administration, Bamtonnelstroy.

©Copyright JSC "BAMTONNELSTROY", 2011